I haven’t posted in a couple of days, so I figured I’d throw up a few screenshots of Flashback. Recently I’ve been experimenting with a bit of lighting in the game, and here’s one of the levels that has it.

 However, recently I created a set of “choice” levels, as I’ve chosen to call them (iseewhutyoudidthar). Basically, you have a room where you get to stay closer to the surface of this mysterious cave you’ve entered, nearer to the light, or to go deeper down into the cave towards the darkness. Your choice not only changes the puzzles that you need to beat, it also changes the story of the game shortly afterwards. I’ve completed the first set of choice levels, and plan to have another set of them later on which will give you another chance to change the outcome of the story. Anyway, if you do choose darkness over light, you see this instead in this level.

Lastly, although the game gets increasingly darker, it will begin to get lighter again if you choose the light, or instead it will get darker much quicker if you choose darkness. As you can tell from the screenshot, it gets pretty dark. One of the few options I haven’t implemented into the game yet is contrast, which will be pretty important for anyone with a darker screen. I’d like the game to be dark, because it helps the atmosphere, but I’d really like it to be playable, too.

Thanks for reading!
-Nathan Wood

About turboRamble

I am a seventeen-year-old who enjoys programming games and applications, as well as reading and writing.

2 responses »

  1. zacharybruno says:

    Awesome. Can’t wait to play it!

Leave a Reply

