I haven’t posted on this blog in forever. So I’m about to change that by writing a little bit about myself for any newcomers.

As you may or may not know, my name is Nathan Wood. At the time of writing this post I am sixteen years old, and I’ve been programming pretty consistently for the past four and a half years. I started ‘programming’ originally by using the drag and drop function of Game Maker 7 Lite in the summer of 2008. Before publishing my first game, I bought Game Maker 7 Pro in October of 2008. I then released a few games, which the majority of them no longer exist on my  hard drives due to multiple crashes, or on the internet because I no longer wish to have them representing me.

In January of 2009 I started using the programming language that is built into Game Maker, called GML, which stands for Game Maker Language (really original, I know). While it is looked down upon by many game developers, I still enjoy using it purely because of how much you can do with it. Sure, it has its limits, such as significantly slowing down computers and not having much to offer in terms of 3D or multiplayer games, but currently I have had few problems with lag in my games and I’ve never bothered even trying to make a 3D or online game. But I digress.

After starting literally hundreds of games and then giving up on them, either due to my inability to program the game the way I wanted it to be, or because I just got lazy, I finally came out with a successful game. In June of 2010 I programmed a game I titled “Hindsight” for the Experimental Gameplay Project, a monthly competition where you need to program a game in the span of seven days with a certain theme. The theme for that June was “Casual Addiction,” and I’m not sure how casual Hindsight really was, but according to many it was addictive. I honestly no longer care for it myself, but that’s probably due to three things — first, I had to test it a hundred times as the creator; second, I hate the trial and error element that exists; and third, I’m a huge perfectionist and looking back at it I see so many flaws in the programming, the story, and the gameplay, to name a few. However, it did get featured on a few websites including the huge game review website JayIsGames. Even better, though, was that it placed fourth in the “Best of Casual Gameplay 2011” for indie games, with large titles such as CaveStory+ beating it.

But anyway. I’m rambling again. Which is another thing — you may also know me as turboRamble. That has been my main username for a while now, thought at this time I’d rather switch to using my real name.

Lastly, I’d like to mention the game I’ve been working on all day today. And the past couple of months. And, if you count the five other times I’ve attempted making this game, the last few years. I originally came up with the concept in January of 2009, which was when I had a massive number of ideas going around and made the basic engines for dozens of games (though I can’t really say the majority of them actually worked the way they were supposed to). However, this time I plan to do it right. Not only do I have a massive checklist (which, I might add, I’ve been checking many things off of), but I’ve written a story, created fifty achievements, and have multiple endings for the game. And the majority of it all has been programmed, I just need to work on implementing the story and creating more levels. I’ll include a screenshot below for anyone interested in how far it has come since the last one I posted (which can be found in my Twitter history somewhere).

Thanks for reading, and here’s to hoping that I continue posting!

-Nathan Wood

About turboRamble

I am a seventeen-year-old who enjoys programming games and applications, as well as reading and writing.

Leave a Reply

