All right, finally I’m creating the sequal to Clay! So far, I have ideas for gravity changers, sticky walls, two new droppable blocks, and acid blocks. I’m pretty excited about it, and once again I’m working with a friend (Zachary Bruno) to make all the graphics. The only things I’ve had to make so far (well, really just edit) are the acid and sticky walls, the gravity arrows, and the background a little. It looks good, but there are a few glitches I have to work out still. Hopefully it won’t stall progress much. I plan to make all the features first then start with the levels, so I can fix all known bugs. Pink walls = sticky walls, and green floors = acid floors. When you change the gravity, it changes the gravity of all the blocks, so it adds much more depth to the overall game. So many options for level design now. Also, the blocks come out randomly, but each level will still be possible no matter what. To play the first Clay, click here.

Also, yesterday I created a cool Christmas based graphic with GIMP. Basically I made two layers, the top one transparent and with the black outline, and the bottom one with all the colors. For the shading, I just took the paint brush, set the base color, and then lowered the opacity. All I had to do is go over the desired area a couple times, getting lower each time, to make it look darker. Today, though, I noticed the leg looked more like a piece of cardboard with green wrappings on it, so I changed the wrappings to look more rounded. Unfortunately, it’s still not looking the best, but I’ll continue to try to fix it.

Interesting, huh? It was a spur-of-the-moment idea, and took me about 30 minutes to create. I went for a REALLY colorful theme, as you can see from the image, with stained-glass and a giant candy-cane in the background.

-Nathan Wood

P.S. – Yeah, I know the post image is pretty pitiful. I just wanted to publish this fast. I figure the image included in this can make up for it, since I didn’t feel like prettying up the post topic. Really, does it matter all that much to you?

About turboRamble

I am a seventeen-year-old who enjoys programming games and applications, as well as reading and writing.

Leave a Reply

