Here’s a sketch I did yesterday….eventually I may take the time to write a tutorial on how to draw it (with picture steps) but for now here’s my drawing. The overall time was about 30 minutes, and I used an ebony pencil on a normal piece of paper. I had to use a camera this time because my scanner is having problems. I’ll upload a new one soon with better quality once my scanner is repaired.

snake-fight

All I did was use some shading techniques to color in each part of the two snakes, so that you could easily tell where the snake ends and the white background begins. Anyway, it isn’t much and I hope to do better next time….I was having problems because there was nothing to look at to base my drawing off of, so I had to just go with what I could remember.

-Nathan Wood

About turboRamble

I am a seventeen-year-old who enjoys programming games and applications, as well as reading and writing.

2 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    wow thats really good I wish I could draw like that! how’d you do that? can’t wait for the tutorial. Do you mind if I put this up on my small website?

  2. turboramble says:

    It may take me a bit to create the tutorial (I’ll have to create a lot of duplicates and edit them all) but I’ll try. The biggest thing you should practice right now is to shade. For a nice, smooth shadow use your finger to smudge the shadow in the direction it should go, and it’ll even it out. Also, I suggest trying to ALWAYS shade in the direction/shape the object is, and always have the light come from the same spot for all objects, unless there’s a lamp or something in your drawing that is between to objects, then the light would be cast opposite the lamp and objects. Always be careful when shading not to mess up, because it could potentialy ruin your drawing all together.

    I hope to have more drawings/tutorials and more programming/tutorial/tips up soon, once I really kick this blog off.

    -Nathan Wood

    P.S. If you’re wondering how I responded in about 10 minutes, it’s because I spend about 90% of my free time on the internet.

Leave a Reply

